An unexpectedly lovely afternoon.

I was really annoyed and cross with myself when I got home yesterday afternoon after a busy early shift,  to discover I had accidentally brought home keys that they’d need on the ward.  The last thing I wanted to do was turn round and go back to work.  So I talked Mark and Paddy into taking the dogs for a little stroll around Cheltenham afterwards.  What was originally intended to be a quick walk for the dogs turned into a lovely three or four hours, moseying around Cheltenham and being tourists in our local area.   We started out for a couple of geocaches…

image

…and this was the first one we found. How beautiful is this fountain?  I never had any idea that it was here.   It was made in Italy but stolen by the French,  and somehow ended up in England.   There was a little plaque with all the info and history of the fountain but I’m a little ashamed to say that Paddy and I were more interested in signing the cache’s logbook!

image

On to geocache number 2 – a statue of King William IV, made to commemorate his coronation.   This was in Montpellier Gardens,  one of many beautiful parks in and around Cheltenham.

image

We were delighted to find an outdoor café so treated ourselves to cappuccinos for Mark and I…

image

…and this chocolatey, creamy concoction for His Knibbs. Lovely.

image

Cheltenham has very old and beautiful trees everywhere,  especially so in most of the parks.  Look at this – GORGEOUS!  And backed by blue skies too!

image

This is another such beauty, although this has been fenced off due to a fungal infection.  Nice.

image

The Queen’s Hotel.  This is an iconic building in Cheltenham.  VERY expensive and VERY exclusive.  And they do fab afternoon teas,  so I’m told.  I may have to indulge my new found passion for afternoon tea again very soon…

image

Another geocache,  this time being guarded by Neptune himself!

image

Another few caches dotted around the town centre then we walked past The Town Hall.  I love the Regency period buildings of Cheltenham. So elegant and pretty.

image

This is Sandford Park, where I had my impromptu picnic at the start of the week.  It has a great play area but my favorite part is the rose garden…

image

…Bertie and Maisy’s favourite part was the huge open spaces. ..

image

…and these huge old tree trunks proved a highlight for Paddy.  I’ve got photos of him last year jumping off these with great abandon,  but this year he was reluctant to do the same!  Older and wiser, perhaps?

image

image

image

There were still some impressive blooms about considering it’s now September.  I wish I’d thought to visit in July and August.  I must make a mental note to head there next year.  It’s right next door to work so there’s no excuse really.

image

The smell was AMAZING.   All in all,  we had a lovely outdoor afternoon.   So much more rewarding than a Sunday afternoon spent snoozing on the sofa.  I loved walking around Cheltenham when there were so few people about.  Definitely an afternoon to repeat sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

